I started out with the best of intentions; I was on my way to the gym.
Normally I walk to meet up with my gym buddy and I get a ride, but it was cold and the 20 minute walk to her work had me calling her to say
“how about I meet you there, I will take the TTC (Toronto Transit Commission), it is fast and easy”.
I left work, gym bag in hand.
When I got to St. George Station it was about 4:45, an announcement came on the loud speaker, which is never good when you are on the TTC.
There is a problem at the … Main … or Bay station, everyone looks at each other, what did it say? None of us heard over the roar of the trains that are running just fine upstairs.
Oh well, I am a patient person and this stuff happens, I have a book in my gym bag. I even got lucky and got a seat on one of the two benches that exist on the entire platform.
At this point I am even grateful because the night before there was a power outage on the University line and we had to go outside into the cold, to find a way to get to the Young line. So me what seemed like about 100,000 other people did that and all tried to fit on the same Bay bus.
At least tonight we were warm, while we were trapped.
But the thing about the subway during rush hour is that the people keep coming.

And coming …

It has now been about a half hour that we are all sitting there, I can no longer read my book, there is no room to even hold a book up without it being knocked out of my hands.
I had given up my seat to a disabled man. So there I was with that gym bag getting heavier by the moment surrounded by people. You could feel everyone starting to get anxious, upset and frustrated, and more people just keep coming.
Two men start arguing, a woman and her boyfriend are screaming at each other because he thinks he knows a place to stand so they can get on the next train, she thinks he is an idiot. Two young people jump over those seated on the bench, kicking the disabled man without an apology of any kind.
This situation is bringing out the worst in all of us.
We hear someone yell to turn off the escalators, people are tripping. Now this seems like a no brainer to me that once we are in this type of a situation the TTC should come and turn escalators off.
The muffled announcer tells us the trains will start running again; it is about 5:30.
I wait for the masses to push themselves on, and after about 20 minutes I finally get on a train. Yeah, I will be home soon. I am skipping the gym I have decided.
It has taken almost an hour and a half to get to this point, and that damm bag is getting very heavy, I wonder if I will ever get back the feeling in my fingers. But we are moving.
In fact we got as far as Pape, then we heard someone start yelling for help. Everyone wonders what is going on.

About 10 minutes later there is that annoying announcer person again telling us there is a medical emergency at Pape.
The feeling of frustration and being trapped has me not knowing if I should cry or break something.
Instead I take out the blackberry and try to calm down with a mindless game.
After about 10 minutes they tell us we need to leave the train and go upstairs to take a bus to the next station, or better yet the constable says, why not walk, it will do us good. Are you kidding me ass hole I want to scream in his face.
Someone asks, if the person will be alright, and he tells them, no she will not be alright. It seems the woman had died.
The TTC special constable keeps telling us to leave. We were trying, there were so many people and everyone is confused, he starts yelling, frustrated with us, saying we need to move, there is nothing to see, that we are morbid and just want to gawk.
I wanted to take that gym bag of mine and throw it at him, how dare he judge us. We were moving as fast as we could, we were all frustrated, very few of us knew what was even going on. Even fewer knew she had died.
I cannot imagine a worst place to die, the indignity of it is horrible. But honestly I am not surprised that something like this had happened. Being through what we had just been through the past hour and a half, you can see how anyone with any health problems could be gravely affected.
I wonder what the statistics are after people are trapped like that and the trains do start running again. How many “Medical Emergencies” happen right afterwards?
Finally I make it upstairs, there are no buses, or if there were no one was there to tell us which ones they were.

It is very cold, I am tired, I need to pee and I just want to be at home. This was a nightmare.
Ambulances, fire trucks, cop cars, and people are everywhere and none of us knowing what to do; no direction is being given anywhere.

I decide to take a taxi, I go out on the Danforth to hail one and all of a sudden police cars come streaming out and block the intersections – no taxis will be getting through.
Again, I mean no disrespect, but why are they blocking the roads? They cannot get her to the hospital in time.
I finally find a cab after about 20 minutes, so freezing cold and $35.00 later, I am finally home.

I am quitting the gym, I hate that bag!